Skip to content

Can’t Get No……………….Satisfaction

October 3, 2012

I had an occasion to listen to The Rolling Stones on an old vintage RCA  45 record player last night. Actually my spouse and I played “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” several times, practicing. It’s too complicated to say why, but we wanted to sing some of that song on the telephone to Kate, one of Beth and Mark Hanna’s kids, one of several beautiful granddaughters.

In the doing I wrote some of the lyrics down so that we could look at them as we sang. I was fumbling around just now on my desk when I spotted the little sheet of scrap paper that I had used. I read the first verse much closer…

“When I’m driving in my car

And the man comes on the radio

He’s telling me more and more

About some useless information

Supposed to fire my imagination

I can’t get no, oh no, oh no

Hey. Hey. Hey. That’s what I say…

Wham! This 45 came out in 1965! That’s almost fifty years ago! And, brothers and sisters, I’m here to tell you that verse is as true right now as it ever was for the Stones!

Think about the radio. Think about TV. Think about the hundreds of junk headlines , stories and ads on the web. Does the media really fire up your imagination?

Where did the news go? What are talk shows? What are reality shows? What in the world are you watching and listening to these days?

I don’t know about you, but almost all of the stuff the man tells me now is useless information! Rather than educate me, make me laugh or cry, inspire me, lift me up, or help me down, it just frustrates me.

I can’t get no satisfaction!

5 Comments
  1. Your words are so true…It all seems like entertainment now (even the news reports); however, it is NOT entertaining in my opinion.

  2. Oh yes, you are so wise! I rarely get a chance to watch TV or listen to the radio but when I do I am left with nothing rattling in my brain! I get more entertainment, education and inspiration from reading your blog and others!

  3. It’s called TMI! We all suffer from Too Much Information.

  4. Bob Woodward permalink

    I enjoy your posts so much.

  5. I was not born til ’73 but am a huge Stones fan and play them on my radio show all the time. I am with you on our inundation with worthless info. Worse yet are folks with their hand held devices. Write on!

Leave a Reply

