Skip to content

Here’s To The Doodlers!

July 16, 2012

I used to be a consummate doodler. I used to sit atop a time bomb of sorts. I was responsible for all programs for dependent and delinquent kids in a given region. I was in middle management, exactly where you did not want to be given that something went wrong. If that happened, I would suddenly be the go-to guy, the one you would go to demand an explanation and/or to affix blame. I ended up fretting. When you fret, you tend to doodle. I was an ace!

To make a long story short, I doodled on desk calendars, the big ones that displayed the entire month. At first I tended to diddle around here and there. Then, I started to fill up the entire page. Over time folks would stop by and ask if they could have one to frame. I have fifty or more that I did in my what one could call my classic period, when my doodles began to look like works of art.

I learned that doodlers hack people off. They think you are not paying attention! If I wasn’t doodling at my desk as I listened on the phone to a mother cry because her children were just placed in foster care, I was doodling on note pads and such at meetings.  I was able to kill that assumption quickly by making spot on remarks about what was being said or ask a pertinent question, all while I was doodling away, head down. Soon,  folks at the meetings wanted the doodles I made, even if just done on a yellow pad.

So, if you doodle, I understand completely. You are just as bright as anyone in the room, and you can multi-task with the best of them. If you are unappreciated at times, please know that there is at least this one guy out there who thinks you are great. You probably should be running the show!

One last thing. I really do get pressure from family members to display some of my framed doodles in an art show. I haven’t done it yet, but I’m thinking about it. If those bastards fire you for doodling one day, you can always start-up a new career!

From → Child Abuse

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

